Who is considered as the God of T20 Cricket in India?

God of T20 Cricket in India:

Every field of human involvement produces certain individuals whose existences are considered legendary based on their performances and they are often termed as ‘Genius’ or ‘Master’ or even ‘God’ of their particular field. The field of Cricket also follows this and is no exception to this fact.

God of T20 Cricket in India
Rohit Sharma after his T20 century in 2017: Photo taken from Internet – Credit: BCCI

The T20 cricket format is a unique and the most popular format of the sport. The reach of T20 matches is not limited to just international matches between countries like Test and ODI matches. The T20 cricket also includes the leagues that happen around the world. Know more about the T20 Cricket matches.

God of T20 Cricket in India

Rohit Sharma, the renowned Indian cricketer, is considered as the ‘God of T20 Cricket in India’. Rohit Sharma’s T20 League record shows his consistency and skill. He has scored a total of 5,764 runs in 221 matches. Rohit Sharma is unique in having played on six championship teams and winning five of them with Mumbai Indians and Hyderabad.

Rohit Sharma’s T20 career is an international success. He was the captain of the Indian T20I team in 2017 against Sri Lanka. He became the fastest century scorer and is also the second-highest T20I run-scorer with 3,853 runs in 148 matches.

Rohit Sharma is one of the most feared batsmen in the world when it comes to T20 format cricket. He became the top run scorer in T20I held in 2019 against New Zealand. He struck a marvelous 16th T20I fifty in the second match of the series. Rohit Sharma is the only batsman to hit three double hundreds in the 50-over format.

God of T20 Cricket in India

There are also other Indian cricketers like Virat Kohli and Babar Azam, who are one of the best batsmen in the T20 format, with the most runs in the T20Is. However, they cannot be considered as the God of T20 Cricket because neither of them have won the ICC T20 World Cup Trophy.

Chris Gayle, who won two ICC T20 World Cup trophy, is undoubtedly considered as the ‘God of T20 cricket in the World’. He holds the record for the highest run scorer and the most runs scored in T20 format.

Next to Chris Gayle, stands Rohit Sharma, who is a batting legend not just in the Twenty20 Format, but in the ODI and Test Formats as well. He won the ICC T20 World Cup trophy in 2007 with the Indian Cricket team. The comparative data between Chris Gayle Vs Rohit Sharma Vs Rashid Khan Vs Virat Kohli Vs Babar Azam is taken from this Article.

Why Rohit Sharma is said to be God of T20 Cricket in India?

The following Stats and Records show us exactly why Rohit Sharma is considered as the ‘God of T20 Cricket in India’:

  • Rohit Sharma is the winner of an ICC T20 World Cup trophy with Indian cricket team in the year 2007.
  • Rohit Sharma is 2nd only to Virat Kohli for the most runs in T20I career with 3974 runs.
  • Rohit Sharma has scored most Hundreds in any T20I career (5 Hundreds).
  • He scored a total of 34 fifties in his T20I career ranking 3rd in this category.
  • He also holds the record for scoring the most Sixes in any T20I career (190 Sixes).
  • He ranks 4th for scoring the most Fours in any T20I career (359 Fours).
  • Rohit Sharma has played 54 matches of T20 format as captain and ranks 9th in this category.
  • Rohit Sharma ranks 1st for Most matches in T20I career with 151 Catches.
  • Rohit Sharma is the 6th fastest scorer to 3000 runs and 4th fastest scorer to 3500 runs in T20 International matches.
  • He ranks 6th in the category of most catches in T20I career with 60 catches.
  • Rohit Sharma has played the most matches in any T20I career (151 matches).
  • He has received a total of 13 Player of the match awards which gives him 5th rank in this category.
  • Rohit Sharma is known for playing T20I for 16 years and 120 days making his T20I career as the 4th longest in this category.

The above stats and rankings are taken from ESPN Cricket archives.

Leave a Comment